Reality Is A Sticky Situation

So what was removed was diagnosed as Stage 3 Cancer. πŸ˜žA 6-Week round of radiation treatments are scheduled to begin in January. This means that a very necessary jaw surgery that was planned to realign his teeth so he could finally eat without struggle….well, that procedure is no longer an option for him. πŸ˜ž

Surgery to have the tumor removed went well and he and I shared a few special moments before our bus ride back to Atlanta. I love that we reconnected on a much needed level this go round. His treatments means that I have more reasons to come visit. So it is bittersweet. πŸ˜‰ I have an odd numbness that bounces around inside me like a ping-pong ball. When it hits my head and my heart I enter a state of confusion. As it springboards off the rest of my innards I am allowed to ignore life’s sensitive emotions and focus on my priorities and responsibilities.

Without any warning, I am unwillingly inducted into a membership of cancer-effected citizens. My eyes close and open slowly as I come to the realization that I am HERE…in that place no parent, no person ever wishes to be. I am One of Them….Those affected by an affliction that they have no human control over…standing in a pool of upset and frustration spilled thickly around your shoes like you stepped in some kind of heavy lubricant. Whatever it is, is representative of the thin layer between hope and reality. It’s sticky and remains on the bottom of your feet so that every step you take stains your path as a reminder of what your new path contains. This thing….this affliction.

God Guide My Steps
I pray the Universe encases the mind of my child with a cloud of knowledge that will comfort and sooth his nerves, his heart and his struggle to maintain his Peace of Mind.
From A Mother’s Heart to the Outer Limits of Possibilities

Your Input Goes Here...

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.